Traveling in a (somewhat) different way

A trip I didn't know I'd like so much.

I’m writing this from a beautiful Airbnb in Dehradun. After a heavy month of work, I finally got a chance to break the mundane and have a nice vacation. This time, the trip happened to be a little different from what I’m used to.

I’m a fan of leisure trips, relaxing, and with little to no schedule. This was as hectic as it could be. All five days, we woke up before 6 AM. The trip included rafting + trekking + camping. We practically had no time to rest and recover (though we were able to carve out some).

I’m a fan of traveling alone, so I can do what I like, at my own pace. If not alone, it’s usually with close friends so I know what to expect and how to make everyone comfortable. But this time, I knew only two from the group of six. Nobody knew everyone. It was mixed group of school, college and work friends.

I’m a fan of long stays. In the past five days, we’ve traveled to three cities, stayed at a hostel, hotel, camp and now an Airbnb.

How do I feel? As good as I can feel. I haven’t laughed this much like ever. I haven’t had this much fun in any other trip. I have never found myself so present, so lost in the moment. I felt myself returning to my college days. I never thought that I could enjoy an adventure focused trip. As uncomfortable as it was, it was a rewarding experience.

Somehow, I didn’t feel scared when I jumped into the stormy water of Ganga. Somehow, I didn’t feel tired after 10km of trekking. Somehow, I didn’t feel intimidated talking to a group of strangers. I forgot about my phone. I forgot about my work. I forgot about everything except where I was.

Maybe that’s what a trip like this does to you. I was able to make lasting memories with my best friends. And make the best of friends with the people I met just a couple of days ago.

I could write a 5,000-word essay, but that’s for another day. I’ll end it here and cherish the last few moments of this vacation.

Good night,
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.