I produced a programming course.

There are things you enjoy doing, and then there are things you enjoy having done. This one's the latter.

This week went past by the speed of light. I lost track of date and time. It didn’t matter where I was physically, my mind kept going back to this project I’ve been working on.

It’s a video project — a programming course for a German company, Droidcon. New to the realm of video production, I had to work hard to make it through.

How hard? Well, it started with a 3,000-word script that took around 10 hours. Recording and voiceover took over 8 hours to produce a raw footage of an hour and a half; followed by another 10-hour edit session to cut it short to 25 minutes.

This was a different level of grind. It took every joule of energy I got and left me insomniac. I was sleeping at two and waking up at six.

But now that it’s finished, I am at peace. After many days of pushing forward, I finally have some time to step back and reflect on what happened.

So, am I proud of the project? Umm, to some extent, yes. I’m not very satisfied with the output but I’m definitely happy with my input. This week was a reminder of what I’m capable of bringing forth. How quickly I can learn new things. How long can I persist through discomfort.

But at the same time, I get reminded of the paradox of busy-ness. Cause as much as I put in this week, there’s nothing I can take out. I don’t remember any details. I don’t remember how I felt, except for the back pain of course.

That’s why it feels like the days just… vanished. If I had the choice, I would have taken things a bit slow to properly absorb the process. Instead of rushing to meet the deadline, I would have allowed some space between the work sessions. I would have been more mindful about what I’m doing.

Guess that’s something to keep in mind for the next course.

How was your week? Was it as hectic as mine? Let me know by replying to this email or commenting on the website.

Have a relaxing weekend,
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.