I got out of slump.

Sometimes, it's better to stop 'trying'.

Let me describe a bit of my routine from the past four months.

  • Wake up and head to gym

  • Come back and play video games

  • Go for a walk in the evening

  • Some light reading before sleep

This has been the most relaxed phase of my life. I enjoyed it a lot!

Of course, this meant that I wasn’t working. Or to put it better, I couldn’t work.

There’s this programming course that’s been pending for long and I tried working on it. By ‘trying’, I mean trying absolutely everything.

I tried keeping it light and breezy, making it fun, working when I was inspired. I tried forcing myself, making deadlines, creating a schedule. But nothing could keep me on my desk.

I’d feel sleepy the moment I open my laptop. I would somehow talk myself into not working — the chair is uncomfortable, the weather is bad, I’m exhausted from gym, etc. Usually, I’d write a sentence or two and call it a day. I hated the project and would do anything but work.

After trying for months, I came to a conclusion — there’s no way I could finish the entire thing even within a year.

And I couldn’t go another year with this course dangling in the back of my mind. I had to get rid of it. So, I made a decision.

I figured that if I write just two more lessons, the course would cross the threshold of coverage. It would cover just enough concepts needed to explain the topic. In other words, I could wrap up the course if I wrote the next two lessons.

Great, I finally found a way to be done with this project and not think about it ever again.

Can you guess what happened next? I finished the course in ten days. I wrote 24 lessons with over 13,000 words in ten freakin’ days!

How? To be honest, even I don’t know for sure. All I know is that the day I decided to quit was the day I actually started working. It’s really, really weird.

I will, however, try to throw some ideas here.

Idea #1

When I decided the cut the course short, I marked 23rd of February as the deadline. I set a simple rule — on 23rd, the course gets submitted. Before that, I have the freedom to do whatever I want.

I can add the two lessons that remain, I can try writing additional lessons, or I can even leave the course in the incomplete state. But on 23rd, the course gets submitted.

I think somewhere deep down, I wanted to conclude the course and this feeling of letting it go unfinished bothered me. Maybe that’s why, I didn’t let it happen.

Idea #2

Have you tried long distance running? Somewhere around the middle, you’re tired and run at a lower speed. But in the final kilometer, the body somehow gains an electrifying energy and you sprint to the finish line.

Maybe, when I found myself near the finish line, I gained that renewed energy and could sprint. I finished those two lessons in two days. Then the next day, I wrote two more. Soon, I was hitting three to five lessons a day. By the end of day ten, the course was complete.

To set a frame of reference, I had started this project on 11th February, 2022. I finished the first half in nearly two years and the second half in ten days.

I have never been this productive. Neither have I worked so effortlessly. After four months, I got out of slump.

What have you been working on lately? Or maybe there’s something that you really wanna work on? Do share.

Until next week,
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.