I completed one year at the gym.

Sharing the perspectives gained.

I joined the gym exactly one year ago.

My trainer made me do a full body workout to engage all my muscles. After some modest stretching, he asked me to do pushups.

I started — one, two, three, fouurrr, fiiivvveeeee… and I fell. Certainly, my body wasn’t in a good shape. Probably in the worst shape it had ever been.

I recall an event from the winter of 2021. I was challenged for two 100m sprints. Now since it was a challenge, I gave it all I had. Result was me puking in the bathroom five minutes later.

Sure I was never a guy you’d call fit, but this was a new low. I decided to make a change.

This wasn’t the first time I had made this decision though. I had tried brisk walks, running, yoga but nothing long enough to give any results.

But somehow this time, I kept up with my decision. I kept going to the gym.

Both my arms swell on the first day, but I kept going. Didn’t lose any weight for the first few months, but I kept going. I went when it was painful after a week’s break. I went on the rainy days. I went to the gym five to six days a week.

How? I think I can articulate a couple of ideas here.

How I stay consistent

Don’t beat yourself up

Most trainers make you do more than you can take. While this is somewhat essential for growth, in the beginning, it actually makes you want to quit.

Why do most people find gym hard? It doesn’t have to be hard. You choose how much is right for you. If my trainer had forced 25 pushups on me the first day, maybe I wouldn’t have gone there again.

Sure consistency is important. But what’s more important is that you don’t lose interest. Take a break when you need to and return more excited. Progress at your own pace.

Make it fun

Find the workout that’s fun for you. Hate running? Try cycling or swimming or HIIT. Find weight lifting mundane? Add some calisthenics to the mix. Have you tried boxing or yoga? Or ever been to a Zumba class? What about a sport you love?

Workouts aren’t boring. You just haven’t found the one that you like.

In the beginning, I was learning new exercises every week, but got bored when my sessions became repetitive. So, I started mixing weight training with yoga and functional training. Recently I added boxing and skipping to my weekly routine and I genuinely enjoy my workouts.

Measure what you can control

To me, growth is about what I can do now that I couldn’t do before.

I do not care about how I look, how my muscles measure or how much weight I’ve lost. These are the things that I don’t have direct control over.

I measure only the things that I directly control. These are speed, stamina, strength and flexibility. All these parameters are directly proportional to the consistency of your workout.

You control the number of sets, not the size of your bicep. You control the distance you run, not your weight. You control the consistency, not the aesthetics.

This perspective helps witness growth daily and avoid getting disheartened.

What changed?

Everything. Here are some stats I’d like to share:

  1. 120 pushups (Did just today XD)

  2. 165 squats

  3. 18 pullups (Couldn’t do a single two months ago :P)

  4. 60kg bench press

  5. 80kg squats

  6. 100kg deadlift

  7. 155kg leg press

  8. 5 minutes plank hold

  9. Ran 7K in 52 minutes

  10. 78kg → 70kg

It is an incredible feeling when your body does what your mind perceives as impossible. I got that feeling when I did my first pullup; when I lifted my body against my elbows during Mayur Asana; when I accomplished 165 squats. My mind could not comprehend how it happened, it just did.

And that’s just the stats from inside the gym. More valuable are the things that changed outside of gym.

I feel energetic throughout the day. I rarely feel exhausted even after long day trips. I am able to lift suitcases, gas cylinders, etc. without hurting my back.

After a whole year, working out is more of a lifestyle now. I can’t imagine myself not exercising. Skipping gym actually makes me sad. I think that’s a good thing, right? Let’s hope it stays this way.

Where are you in your fitness journey? What’s your favorite exercise? Let me know by replying to this email :)

At last, thank you for reading! Catch you next week.

Stay healthy!
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.