How To Make Decisions

Sharing some rules of thumb that work for me

Making decisions can be overwhelming. It’s a process that requires a good chunk of mental bandwidth. And coupled with the fear of making wrong decisions, you’ll often find yourself procrastinating or anxious. While making decisions is something I suck at as well, here are some rules of thumb that help me.

Most decisions are reversible

Often, we overvalue the consequences of our decisions. Most of them aren’t really worth the time and energy we give them. Quitting a job to start a business may seem like a big decision. But it’s as reversible as buying a crappy phone. You can always get yourself another job if things don’t work out.

So the rule is to just go for it without thinking too much. As Brianna says, “Okay is where we all end up, even if we fuck up along the way”.

If it’s not hell yes, it’s a no

When you’re just starting out in career or (adult) life, you will have to carve out every single opportunity. You will have to say yes to every chance that comes your way. But as you progress, you will be offered much more than you can take. The problem is that we forget who’s in charge. You are not bound to say yes to every opportunity or obligation.

Rather, saying no creates space for the things you actually care about. You will be able to take on projects that are better suited for you. So, it’s wise to say no to most things. If it’s not hell yes, it’s a no.

Do whatever you feel like and let the chips fall where they may

I like to think that I can do anything as long as I’m ready to face the consequences. A lot of times I just know that making this choice would lead to a missing opportunity. But I still make it because that’s what my heart wants.

What happens in these cases is that while I do miss out on that particular opportunity, another one comes up. A new path is carved out for me, one that is more aligned with who I am.

It happened when I chose to stay back in Bangkok instead of going to Pattaya for New Year’s Eve. I knew I would be missing the most epic party. But in turn, I got to celebrate New Year in the most peaceful manner, at a Buddhist temple, chanting mantras.

It’s not always about making the right choices. Sometimes, it’s just about doing what you want.

Don’t take another monkey’s word for it

When we are unsure, we seek help. We ask for advice from people who seem to know more than us. They seem to have seen more of life, maybe more of that particular field, maybe they are more intelligent.

Well, let me tell you something — everyone is just trying to figure it out. They are more or less as lost as you. Look at me, sharing with you my thoughts, experiences, advice every Sunday. I’m more lost than anyone I know.

So, do listen to people, but make your own choices. Figure it out on your own. Don’t take another monkey’s word for it, including this one.

What do you think of these? Do you find these rules helpful? Share your thoughts by replying to this email or commenting on the website.

I’ll see you around,
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.