Everyone Writes Their Own Story

It's a matter of looking beneath the surface.

I’m on my way back from a trip with some friends from school and college. We have been in touch through the internet, but these past days, I got a chance to share deep conversations with them.

I always looked up to these people. The guy who topped the university almost effortlessly. The one who goes on treks, runs marathons and builds robots. The one who works as a scientist five days, and as a videographer on the weekends.

And I’m just touching the tip of the iceberg here. These people are truly remarkable in their own respect.

When you meet someone, you are introduced to their present. You get to know who they are now, but not how they reached to that point.

I used to think that these solo trips, living in hostels, commuting for 17 hours straight is easy for my friend because that’s how he is. But listening to his stories made me realize that it’s not that. He’s not born with this courage and endurance. In fact, it is as difficult for him as it is for me. But he worked on it. He consistently put himself through the discomfort and gained experience.

I used to wonder how my friend shifted his career from computer science to biotechnology. When he narrated his struggles, I learnt that the career change wasn’t really intentional, neither it was by chance. It was a matter of making the best of what was in front of him.

It is actually very easy to give someone an identity. But when you get past the surface, you see that everyone worked on it. They went through a process. They made the hard choices when it was time. They pushed themselves out of their comfort zone.

You can too.

What’s your story? Pretty open-ended question but answer however you like!

Good night,
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.