Brilliance transcends boundaries

Your work shows. It is felt, even if not understood.

Couple of months back, I met Sayisha. Here’s a video of her singing.

She is eight and has won numerous competitions. But I don’t think we need to know her credentials to appreciate this (impromptu) performance. Her talent is self-evident.

Why though? How can I, with no music knowledge, understand her finesse? Maybe I can’t. Maybe I can’t understand why her song mesmerized me, but I can definitely feel it.

Brilliance does not require a medium to transmit or prerequisites to observe. Neither is it bounded by the field of work, geography, or time period. Our soul feels what our mind is unable to comprehend.

And if you think that this characteristic is confined to artistic domains, then let me throw some examples.

Dr. Richard Feynman is considered one of the greatest physicists of all time. Not just because of his contributions to the field, but also because of his exceptional ability to explain complex concepts in simple terms.

Here is him explaining ‘fire’.

On the same lines of knowledge and obsession, the name that comes to my mind is EPR. He is a rapper and judge at MTV Hustle.

The guy is a living encyclopedia on HipHop. After each performance, he’d “dissect the lyrics”, figure out the rhyme schemes, comment on musicality, cadence, voice modulation, flow switches, and what not. I am more eager to hear his words than the performance itself.

And really, brilliance is not as rare a trait as we think it is. Just look around and you’ll find someone so good at their work that it speaks before they open their mouth.

My fitness coach is the best teacher I’ve ever had. Her knowledge base expands in both width and depth, encompassing not only a vast array of exercises but also the perfection with which each one has been mastered.

She listens, explains and demonstrates each workout to the extent that I cannot do it wrong. My mind rarely understands it, but my body always does.

I think we all have that one thing; the thing we are so overly obsessed about; the thing that has become a part of our personality. The thing that shows up before we do and reaches further than we can. The thing that has become the identity second to our name.

All we need to do is to uncover it for the world to see. Let it transcend.

What are you obsessed about lately? Let me know by replying to this email :)

Catch you next week!
Aachman

Join the conversation

or to participate.